Wednesday, May 28, 2008

General Linux Bitching

Rather than write an article every time something pisses me off, I'm just gonna keepit all posted here :

Note to any devs that, by miracle of God, make it here : This is just me bitching. In fact, the original text file I paste to this is called bitch_and_whine.txt. There isn't a grain of sault big enough to take this, just disregard the anger in general.

Issues with Linux in general :

- For fuck's sake everyone, please agree on a standard for picture copy/pasting.
- OSS needs to fucking DIE. Please allow it to die in peace.
  - Yes, PA game, I'm talking to you. "Turn off other sound devices" is bullshit. It's not 1995. Go eat a dick.
- Wine :
  - Please make "stop looking like shit" a priority. You're so close to perfection (especially with installers like wine-doors that let you install App X 5.3 when 5.4 won't work even tho 99% of users have no need for any of the changes since 3.0)
- Bluez :
  - I'm not sure if you're the makers of the gnome Bluetooth systray panel in Ubuntu. If not, disregard this. If yes, good work overall. Please add an easy-to-use SCO/A2DP enabling interface. Preferably something that connects to Pulse so I don't have to finagle around my audio settings in hopes that the headset will work properly. Also, improvements for coming back from a phone pairing would be much obliged (not a major thing, Mac OS is the only thing that really does this stably, Bluesoleil sucks at it and I'm not even gonna bother trying Vista's bluetooth stack at this point). The lack of lag in audio kicks butt, btw.
- Suspend. Fucking suspend, standby, etc. I'm not sure if it's Nvidia's fault or Xorg's fault or Ubuntu's fault or Compiz or I DON'T FUCKING CARE. Computers use up a shitload of power and I will never be a big fan of turning my entire computer off every fucking night. MAKE IT COME BACK WITHOUT BREAKING. What the FUCK.


Issues with Gnome in general :

- Can't alt+tab to a new window while dragging a file from nautilus (e.g. moving a file from a full-screen nautilus to a full-screen application to open it)
- Can't drag a file to task bar and "hover" over to get a list when applications are grouped (to get a specific window in an app to drag a file to)
- Open Dialog - Please, for FUCK'S SAKE, put a icon thumbnail view in there. Why do you hate us so?
- Run box - Sucks. Completely. This is mainly due to auto-complete being broken. Let me explain :
  1. Auto-completes only when there is one viable option.
        a. This ignores an application the user will run 100 times because it has a similar name to an application the user will NEVER run.
                i. For instance, because someone thought it was a good idea to put fucking gnome- in front of every goddamn command, even tho I only run gnome-calculator, I have to write up to "gnome-" every single goddamn time.
        b. Given 2. below, this makes auto-complete counter-intuitive AT ITS CORE
  2. Auto-complete, when finally finishing your command, writes the auto-completed text after your own and highlights it. Cursor stays where it is. If you type another letter that matches the autocomplete, cursor moves to the end.
        a. This is FUCKING RETARDED and counter-unuitive.
        b. Combined with 1, where your word will most likely already be 90% of the way done writing your command, what will REALLY happen is that you won't notice and your command will have extra letters. Some of us have a fast TYPING SPEED. Who the FUCK thought this was a good idea?
 3. Fix? - Take a look at Quicksilver (with only app catalog enabled) or KDE's run box (with autocomplete based on history). Sure, one requires downloading an app and one requires setting an option (on noes~!), they both work so much better that they're both easily worth the trouble. Gnome's run box is not. My kingdom for a replacement.
 

Issues with most distros of Gnome : (using Ubuntu at the moment)

- Make Glipper a goddamn default, it not only brings text pasting in Linux up to 1995 standards, it makes it far exceed 2008 standards. (e.g. paste history is nice)

Issues with many distros :

- If you can't cram a full LiveCD environment in your installer CD, you sure as FUCK better do it for your installer DVD. Installer Live Disc turns Linux installations into absurdly less hair-pulling scenarios.

Issues with Ubuntu :

- Enable the latest LinuxWacom driver (it's like ~600kbytes compiled) and enable it by default in Xorg.conf. It's TWO THOUSAND EIGHT, for fuck's sake.

Issues with MythTV :

- I haven't installed you yet, but I can only imagine how many fierce anger will arrive when I do.